Returning to Myself

It seems as though I am coming out from a fog that settled over my life for the last twelve years. These last few weeks have been interesting as I have shifted from working mother to a stay-at-home mom and full time housewife…or homemaker, if you will. It is amazing how much clearer your thoughts are when you dont have to rush from one thing to another trying to fit everything into one day. I’m starting to notice and enjoy the little things… like putting lotion on my children. Or brushing my sons hair. Or actually setting the table for dinner. I have so much more time with the kids now. I am liking this.

It is weird though… my body seems to be out of sorts with this. My sleep pattern is taking a hit I guess since I am not as exhausted at the end of the day. Also, when I have nothing to do through the day I feel like I need to be out doing something anyway. I haven’t learned the art of just sitting still. Insha Allah my restlessness will calm soon.

It has been a big adjustment. but a good one. Ramadan came and went… and I felt a little apart from it all as I was not fasting so I didn’t benefit from it the way I hoped I would. Loosing the baby was an emotional journey I have never experienced but I come out feeling stronger in my faith that everything happens for a reason and I am content with Allah’s will. I do, however, look forward to another opportunity to bring life into this world, insha Allah.

Hope all is well in your worlds.

6 Responses to “Returning to Myself”


  1. 1 Solace October 12, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    Welcome back, Tru Woman!!!

    I take my hat off to stay at home moms – I think they work much harder than those of us who are working moms, but it must be more rewarding than the corporate world.

    Insha’Allah you will get pregnant again when the timing is right!

  2. 2 imanubillah October 14, 2008 at 1:29 am

    As Salaamu Alaikum:

    I pray all is well with you. I know how it is to be a stay at home mom so I pray Allah makes it easy on you. I think it is one of the toughest jobs in the world!!!

  3. 3 Umm Layth October 17, 2008 at 12:31 am

    All the experiences in life, the good, the bad, are there to teach us lessons and to strengthen us insha’Allah. I’m glad that you are enjoying your life at home right now. Please keep us in your ad’iyah insha’Allah.

  4. 4 3rd.. October 17, 2008 at 9:57 am

    How incredible that you found the strength and found renewed faith after losing your baby.. I guess God didn’t leave you out of His sight afterwards..
    It’s interesting to read what you write about appreciating the little things more. Often people discuss whether or not one can be just as good a mon if they work, I guess it’s not so much about rubbing the lotion in – it’s about loving to do so. And if more time in a day is needed to be able to appreciate those things, than being a working mom just won’t do it.
    I have no kids of my own and am working full-time, it’s nice to read how you are dealing with the transition.

  5. 5 Safa November 4, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Assalaamu alaikum sis,

    Good to “hear” your “voice”:) I am glad that you are somewhat stronger for all you’ve been through lately. As a working mom and one who stayed home a year with the last baby, it is eye-opening…for me, both are rewarding in it’s own way.

  6. 6 Safiyyah November 15, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    Salaams Tru:

    Where are you dear? I was so excited that you started to blog again … where did you get to?

    Insha Allah everything is OK with you.

    Miss you!
    Safiyyah


Leave a Reply

